Skip to main content

Spaceport in India

Satish Dhawan Space Centre

Our company plans to launch its satellites from the spaceport in India.

Satish Dhawan Space Centre ( is located in the south of Andhra Pradesh, on Sriharikota Island in the Bay of Bengal, founded on October 01, 1971, the first successful launch was made on July 18, 1980. The spaceport belongs to the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) (

The Space Centre received its current name in 2002, after the former head of the ISRO, Satish Dhawan, died.

Satish Dhawan (September 25, 1920 – January 03, 2002) was an Indian mathematician and aerospace engineer. Dhawan was born in Srinagar, educated in India and then in the United States. Dhawan was one of the most prominent researchers in the field of turbulence and boundary layers. In 1972, he became the third Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) and headed it until he died in 2002. The second ISRO launch pad and the space center are named in his honor.

On March 14, 2023, the ISRO launched the GSLV Mk III Launch Vehicle from the Satish Dhawan Spaceport. The rocket successfully launched the Chandrayaan-3 interplanetary automatic station (Chandrayaan-3) into orbit: this is the third ISRO station to explore the Moon. The Chandrayaan-3 Moon landing was successful, and India became the fourth country after the United States, the Soviet Union and China to land its equipment on the Moon. The station consists of a propulsion module, a lander and a lunar rover (